12 June 2018

It’s double the celebration for University of Queensland researchers Brandon and Claire Wainwright, who were both appointed Members of the Order of Australia (AM) in the Queen’s Birthday Honours for their significant service to medicine.

The two professors were among more than 20 UQ community members to make the Queen’s Birthday Honours list, including a laser physicist, an author, and a women’s advocate.

Professor Claire Wainwright from the UQ Faculty of Medicine and Lady Cilento Children’s Hospital was recognised for significant service to medicine as a respiratory clinician, and for leadership into the study of cystic fibrosis.

“I work with children and families who teach me so much and are always an inspiration,” she said.

“This award, I feel, is on behalf of them as well as my wonderful research and clinical teams and the many collaborators who have supported and advised me over the years.”

Professor Brandon Wainwright, Director of UQ’s Institute for Molecular Bioscience, received his AM for significant service to medicine in the field of molecular bioscience, to cell biology and genome research, and to education.

He said the honour belonged not just to himself but to all staff and students at IMB who have made the institute one of the top life sciences institutes in the Asia-Pacific region.

"I'd like to especially acknowledge my own research group, who continue to advance treatments for brain cancer into the clinic," he said.

"It is a special pleasure to receive this award in company with my wife, Claire, who is an outstanding paediatric physician and researcher."

UQ Associate Director, Workplace Diversity and Inclusion Dr Deanne Gibbon recieved an OAM.

Parenting expert Professor Matt Sanders was also recognised for his contribution to Queensland over the weekend, with the state premier naming him a Queensland Great recipient.

Professor Sanders is the founder of the Positive Parenting Program Triple P, and has contributed to policy on parenting and mental health world-wide.

Acting Vice-Chancellor Professor Aidan Byrne said he was delighted to see so many members of the UQ community being celebrated.

“The university is immensely proud of its alumni, staff and students who create positive change in society through their discoveries, their teaching, their leadership, and in a myriad of other ways,” he said.

“These honours recognise that their contributions are not just appreciated within an academic context, but by a much broader community who values their hard work, community spirit and knowledge leadership.

“I offer them my sincere congratulations.”

Image above: UQ Associate Director, Workplace Diversity and Inclusion Dr Deanne Gibbon received an OAM for her work as a women's advocate.

UQ community Queen’s Birthday honourees include*:


  • Professor Suzanne Chambers (Bachelor of Arts ’92)
  • Mr Terrence Effeney (Bachelor of Engineering ’82, Bachelor of Economics ’90)
  • Professor Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop
  • Ms Natalie Jeremijenko
  • Associate Professor Katherine Mary Tucker (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (Honours) ’80)
  • Dr Ortrun D Zuber-Skerritt (Doctor of Philosophy ’76)


  • Professor Anthony Brown
  • Adjunct Professor Anne Cross (Bachelor of Social Work ’76, Master Social Work ’90)
  • Professor Ram Dalal
  • The Hon Justice Martin Daubney SC (Bachelor of Laws ’86, Bachelor of Arts ’83)
  • Air Commodore Mark Gower OAM
  • Professor Lawrence Hirst (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery ’69, Doctor of Medicine ’83, Doctor of Science (Medical Science) ’15)
  • Dr Marie Porter (Bachelor of Arts (First Class Honours) ’94, Doctor of Philosophy ’06)
  • Dr Robert Riddel (Doctor of Philosophy (Architecture) ’08)
  • Professor Bernard ‘Mark’ Smithers (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery ’77)
  • Professor Brandon Wainwright
  • Professor Claire Wainwright
  • Professor David Walker
  • Agnes Whiten OAM (Bachelor of Arts ’78)
  • Dr John Colin Gilmore (Bachelor of Physiotherapy '83, Doctor of Philosophy '02)
  • Sister Mary Dorothy D'Apice
  • Mr Peter Herbert Routley (Bachelor of Education '74)
  • His Honour Judge Michael John Shanahan (Bachelor of Commerce '75, Bachelor of Laws '77)
  • Ms Carmel Anne Williams (Graduate Certificate in Health Studies (Chronic Disease) '04)


  • Mr Constantine Castrisos
  • Dr James Cuskelly (Bachelor of Arts ’84, Grad Dip Education ’85, Master Music Studies ’97, Doctor of Philosophy ’07)
  • Adjunct Professor Iyla Davies (Master Laws ’91)
  • Adjunct Professor Victor Feros (Bachelor of Arts ’71, Master Urban Studies ’77)
  • Dr Deanne Gibbon CSC
  • Southern Queensland Rural Health Board Chair Dereck Tuffield
  • Group Captain David John Houghton (Bachelor of Engineering '92)
  • Mr Neville Barwick (Bachelor of Architecture (Honours) ’61)
  • Dr Lynette Teresa Bishop (Bachelor of Educational Studies '77, Master Educational Admin '79, Master Educational Studies '81, Bachelor of Arts '84 (Honours), Doctor of Philosophy '89)
  • Ms Sheena Margaret Boughen (Bachelor of Arts '80, Grad Dip Education '81)
  • Dr Patricia Margaret Desmarchelier
  • Mrs Dianne Mary Eden (Bachelor of Arts '90)
  • Mr Kenneth Wayne Fitzsimmons (Bachelor of Engineering '65)
  • Mr Michael Paul Goodwin (Bachelor of Arts '86, Grad Dip Education '87)
  • Major Geoffrey Bruce Haigh RFD (Bachelor of Engineering '68, Bachelor of Economics '78)
  • Dr Bruce Gilbert Johnston (Bachelor of Dental Science '56)
  • Professor Stephen Andrew Margolis
  • Dr Michael Miros (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (First Class Honours)
  • Mr John Joseph O'Brien (Cert in Education '66, Bachelor of Education '70)
  • Dr Graeme Alfred Pollock (Doctor of Philosophy '89)
  • Mr Glenn Ives Simpson (Bachelor of Arts '68)
  • Associate Professor Vivienne Tippett (Dip in Psychology ’83, Master Public Health ’93, Doctor of Philosophy ’10)
  • Mr Dereck Tuffield (Southern Queensland Rural Health Board Chair)
  • Mr Robert (Benny) James Wilson (Bachelor of Arts '80)

Image above: Professor Matt Sanders received a Queensland Greats award.

*Have we missed anyone? If you know of a member of the university community honoured in the Queen’s Birthday awards that does not appear on our list, please let us know by emailing communications@uq.edu.au so that we can help celebrate their success.


Media: UQ Communications, communications@uq.edu.au, 3365 1120.